What are the continuing education requirements for license renewal in Tennessee?
- 9 hours, every year
- 4 hours in Spectacle
- 2 hours in Contact Lens
- 2 hours optional
- 1 hour of Ethics and Jurisprudence
Internet CEs allowed: Yes, but only 2 hours maximum
Is Optical Training Institute an approved continuing education provider in Tennessee?
Yes, licensed opticians in Tennessee can take any of our online continuing education courses on our website.
What is the Optician Development Program approved for in Tennessee?
ODP will reduce 1,750 hours (1 year) of the 5,250 hours (3-year) Apprenticeship requirement as it is a Board approved apprentice educational training program (AETP).
What are the requirements to become a licensed optician in Tennessee?
Section 0480-01-.04 Qualifications for Licensure
An applicant and licensee must:
- Be a United States citizen.
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- Provide evidence that he is well regarded in moral character and professional ethics (Rule 0480-01-.05)
- Meet the following educational requirements:
- Be a graduate of an accredited high school or possess an equivalency of a high school education. The education requirements must be completed prior to the date of application; and either
- Have satisfactorily completed a two-year course of study in opticianry in a college level program recognized and approved by the Board; or
- Have had practical training and experience (apprenticeship) of a grade and character satisfactory to the Board as an Apprentice for not less than three (3) years or more than six (6) years under the Sponsoring Supervision of a Sponsoring Supervisor. Practical training prior to age 15 will not be considered in determining the time spent in the apprenticeship training program. Attendance in an accredited school or an approved college level program that shall specifically include study in the following will be considered as time toward fulfilling the three (3) year requirement. Time will be computed hour for hour exactly as hours spent in the apprenticeship training program:
- Anatomy and Physiology of the Eye
- Optical Theory
- Applied Ophthalmic and Geometric Optics
- Ophthalmic Lens Design
- Lens Measurement and Inspection
- Lens Surfacing and Fabrication
- Fitting Techniques
- The Use of the Slit Lamp, Radius, Lensometer, Thickness and Diameter Gauges, and other instruments that do not determine refractive power or diseases and ailments of the eye
- Methods of Fitting Contact Lenses
- Post-fitting Contact Lens Care
- If the applicant holds an unrestricted dispensing optician license in another state, the length of time for that state’s training and supervised experience requirements for initial licensure shall be considered as time toward fulfilling Tennessee’s three (3) year requirement.
For more information: Statutes And Rules (tn.gov)
What exams are required in Tennessee to become a licensed optician?
Passing of the National Opticianry Competency Examination offered by the American Board of Opticianry (ABO), or its successor, is required.
Passing of the National Contact Lens Registry Examination offered by the National Contact Lens Examiners (NCLE), or its successor, is required.
Passing of the Tennessee Dispensing Optician Examination.
How can you contact the Tennessee state board?
Board of Dispensing Opticians
Phone: (615) 532-5090 local (800) 778-4123 nationwide
Email: [email protected]
665 Mainstream Drive, 2nd Floor
Nashville, TN 37243