What are the continuing education requirements for license renewal in New York?
- Ophthalmic Dispensers: 18 hours, every 3 years
- 3 hours Contact Lens (maximum)
- Ophthalmic Dispensers + CL Practitioner: 20 hours, every 3 years
- 10 hours in Contact Lens (at least)
Allows Internet CE?
Yes, if provider is state board approved (OTI is an approved provider)
Is Optical Training Institute an approved continuing education provider in New York?
Yes, licensed opticians (Ophthalmic Dispensers) in New York can take any of our online continuing education courses on our website.
What is the Optician Development Program approved for in New York?
At this time, ODP is not approved in the state of New York for apprenticeship alignment. The program can be taken for training and ABO-NCLE exam preparation purposes only.
What are the requirements to become a licensed optician in New York?
- To qualify for a license as an ophthalmic dispenser, an applicant shall fulfill the following requirements;
- Application: file an application with the department;
- Education: have received an education, including high school graduation and completion, in accordance with the commissioner's regulations, of either (i) a two-year program in ophthalmic dispensing, or, (ii) two years of training and experience in ophthalmic dispensing under the supervision of a licensed ophthalmic dispenser, optometrist or physician;
- Experience: have experience satisfactory to the board and in accordance with the commissioner's regulations;
- Examination: pass an examination satisfactory to the board and in accordance with the commissioner's regulations;
- Age: be at least eighteen years of age;
- Citizenship: meet no requirement as to United States citizenship;
- Character: be of good moral character as determined by the department; and
- Fees: pay a fee of one hundred fifteen dollars to the department for admission to a department conducted examination and for an initial license, a fee of forty-five dollars for each reexamination, a fee of fifty dollars for an initial license for persons not requiring admission to a department conducted examination, and a fee of fifty dollars for each triennial registration period.
- A person licensed after July first, nineteen hundred seventy-three shall be permitted to fit contact lenses only if the licensee, in addition to the requirements of subdivision a of this section, shall (1) pass a separate examination satisfactory to the board and in accordance with the commissioner's regulations; and (2) have the requisite experience in the fitting of contact lenses satisfactory to the board and in accordance with the commissioner's regulations.
For more information: NYS Ophthalmic Dispensing:Laws, Rules & Regulations:Article 144
What exams are required in New York to become a licensed optician?
Passing of the National Opticianry Competency Examination offered by the American Board of Opticianry (ABO) is required.
Passing of the Contact Lens Registry Examination offered by the National Contact Lens Examiners (NCLE) is required.
Passing of the state practical examination.
How can you contact the New York state board?
NY State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Ophthalmic Dispensing Unit
P.O. Box 22063
Albany, NY 12201
Phone: 518-474-3817, ext 250
E-mail: [email protected]