What are the continuing education requirements for license renewal in New Jersey?
- 12 hours, every 2 years
- 5 Hours (at least) - Spectacle
- 3 Hours (at least) - Contact Lenses
- 2 Hours NJ Statutes and Rules governing ophthalmic dispensing
- 2 Hours (max) - Management/Sales/Marketing
- 1 Hour Blood Borne Pathogens (once)
Allows Internet CE?
Yes, if provider is state board approved (OTI is not an approved provider)
Is Optical Training Institute an approved continuing education provider in New Jersey?
No, Optical Training Institute is not currently an approved provider for New Jersey opticians.
What is the Optician Development Program approved for in New Jersey?
At this time, ODP is not approved in the state of New Jersey for apprenticeship alignment. The program can be taken for training purposes only.
What are the requirements to become a licensed optician in New Jersey?
52:17B-41.9. Meetings of board; examinations; qualifications as candidates
The board shall meet at least twice annually, at which time candidates applying for certification shall be examined and their qualifications determined; and the board may meet at such other times and places as the board may prescribe. A candidate shall qualify for examination and licensure as an ophthalmic dispenser upon providing the board with proof that he:
- Holds a high school diploma or equivalent; and
- Has fulfilled either of the following requirements;
(1) Holds an associate degree in ophthalmic science or its equivalent from an accredited institution and has worked full-time as an apprentice ophthalmic dispenser under the supervision of a licensed ophthalmic dispenser for not less than 4 months nor more than 1 year prior to taking the examination; or
(2) Has served not less than 36 calendar months as an apprentice dispenser during which time he has satisfactorily completed not less than the requisite number of school hours of board approved courses in ophthalmic science, said number of hours to be determined by the board.
For more information: Pages - Statutes and Regulations (njconsumeraffairs.gov)
What exams are required in New Jersey to become a licensed optician?
Passing the state examination is required.
How can you contact the New Jersey state board?
New Jersey Board of Examiners of Ophthalmic Dispensers and Technicians
PO Box 45011
Newark, NJ 07101