Loading...

No products in the cart.

CE Credit and Licensing Requirements by State

Every state has different licensing and continuing education requirements. Some states don’t accept online CE credits. Select your state below and learn more about your state’s specific requirements.

Please Select a State

Take Georgia CE COURSES

Georgia

 

What are the continuing education requirements for license renewal in Georgia?

  • 10 hours, every 2 years  
  • 2 hrs minimum of Contact Lens  
  • 1 hr of GA Opticianry Laws and Rules  
  • 6 hours Technical- Contact Lens or Spectacle  

Internet CE allowed?

Yes, but only 5 hours (maximum) & only if provider is state board approved (OTI is not an approved provider)

 

Is Optical Training Institute an approved continuing education provider in Georgia?

No, Optical Training Institute is not currently an approved provider for Georgia opticians.

 

What is the Optician Development Program approved for in Georgia? 

ODP fulfills the requirement listed in Section O.C.G.A. §43-29-7 (d): meets the formal home study program requirement. Completion of the program qualifies an individual for Dispensing Optician Licensure by Education.

 

What are the requirements to become a licensed optician in Georgia?

Rule 420-5-.01 Application and Examination Requirements

  1. The optical dispensing practical examination shall be held a minimum of twice a year.
  2. Only complete applications submitted with the required fee and all attachments and documents will be accepted by the Board. Each application must be accompanied by the following attachments:
    1. A Secure and Verifiable Document and Affidavit of Citizenship as defined in Code Section 50-36-2;
    2. Copy of high school diploma or its equivalent as defined by the State Board of Education;
    3. If applying on the basis of education, the applicant must have satisfactorily completed an opticianry degree or diploma from a recognized school of ophthalmic dispensing approved by the Board as defined in 420-5-.01(d) below. An official college transcript and copy of diploma or degree indicating the graduation date must accompany the application.
    4. A recognized school of ophthalmic dispensing as referenced in OCGA 43-29-7(b)(4), is one which provides an ophthalmic dispensing program which shall include approved curriculum of opticianry courses leading to a diploma, degree or certificate that is approved by the Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG). Recognition may be granted to other opticianry educational programs by the Georgia State Board of Dispensing Opticians on a provisional basis pending application, acceptable quarterly reports on progress to the board. Failure to report acceptable progressive reports quarterly will result in withdrawal of recognition of the program by the Georgia State Board of Dispensing Opticians.
    5. Applicants applying on the basis of education and experience must submit a transcript and an affidavit that specifies total course clock hours completed from a program. The applicant must also furnish an affidavit of work hours engaged in ophthalmic dispensing activities approved by the Board while under the direct supervision of a Georgia licensed optician, a Georgia licensed physician or a Georgia licensed optometrist. The total combined number of hours must be a minimum of 3000 hours; and not less than two calendar years;
    6. Applicants applying on the basis of practical experience shall furnish an affidavit of work hours engaged in ophthalmic dispensing activities approved by the Board while under the direct supervision of a Georgia licensed optician, a Georgia licensed physician or a Georgia licensed optometrist. The total of hours must be a minimum of 3,000 hours and not less than two calendar years;
    7. Applicants applying on the basis of formal home study programs through the Ophthalmic Career Progression Program with the National Academy of Opticianry or other programs approved by the board must furnish an affidavit of having successfully completed the program.
  3. Subject matter of examination shall be related to ophthalmic dispensing.
  4. Prior to issuance of a license, applicant must submit current National Opticianry Competency Examination (NOCE or ABO Basic) and Contact Lens Registry Examination (CLRE or NCLE Basic) certifications in addition to certification of completion of the ABO Practical and NCLE Practical exams.

 

For more information: Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia

 

What exams are required in Georgia to become a licensed optician?

Passing of the National Opticianry  Competency Examination offered by the American Board of Opticianry (ABO) is required.

Passing of the Contact Lens Registry Examination offered by the National Contact Lens Examiners (NCLE) is required.

Passing of the state practical examination.

 

How can you contact the Georgia state board?

Georgia State Board of Dispensing Opticians

237 Coliseum Drive

Macon, GA 31217

478-207-2440

Georgia State Board of Dispensing Opticians